Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 20, 2024, 07:16:55 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the DMF

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need advice on ebay dispute  (Read 1814 times)
JonS2R

« on: August 14, 2018, 02:50:27 PM »

Hey guys, I'm looking for some unbiased opinions on a sale I did on ebay to make sure I'm not being unreasonable. Being that I'm new to Ducatis, I want input from guys who have been around them and dealt with the swelling tank issues.

I received a spare tank with my Monster and decided to sell it as part of my spare parts garage purge. As told to me by the prior owner, the original tank did start to swell so he pulled it off and let it sit empty while he used this tank in the meantime. He then swapped them back prior to selling the bike. My current tank fits perfectly and doesn't look like it has any swelling or ripples in the surface although that's besides the point.

The buyer is now wanting to return it as "it wasn't as described". I've been on ebay for 15 years and luckily this is the first issue I've had.

This is an album of the pictures I put in the ad: https://imgur.com/a/XkcKtY4

This is the ad description:

For sale is a Monster S2R 1000 fuel tank. It's an OEM spare I have but no longer need. It came with my bike and I believe it may have swollen a little at some point as the stripe sticker has some air bubbles in it (the stripe can be removed and/or replaced). However, it has sat empty for quite awhile so it should have returned to its original size. There are no current signs of it swelling such as ripples or odd formations in the surface of the tank. There are a couple of nicks in the paint as pictured but it is not dented. Feel free to contact me with any questions.