Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

May 15, 2024, 02:59:13 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Off-road and ADV gear: general questions  (Read 7434 times)
1.21GW

bikeless

« on: January 06, 2015, 09:04:44 AM »

My traveling w/ helmet thread was turning into a newbie off-road thread, so I'm transferring the topic here...

Background:
I'm taking a trip to Ecuador next month that includes 4 days/3 nights of ADVing around the center of the country (mostly mountainous regions).  I think 2/3 of the trip is off of asphalt, although from pictures it appears that more are dirt roads and gravel and no the deep sand, rocky terrain, muddy bogs that Ewan and Charlie encountered in LWR/LWD.  I have no dirt experience and was fully advised on the risks, etc of this by caring DMFers.  So let's move on and talk gear.

Some questions:

- I have street/race boots (Dainese Torques), which provide good ankle/heal protection but are not waterproof.  What is special about dirt boots?  I would imagine they guard more from flying rocks, etc.  Is gortex or some water protection necessary?

- Helmets: from what I gather, off-road helmets are meant to be worn with goggles.  This allows for better airflow and also reduces condensation, which would fog up street helmet shields pretty quickly (I assume bc heavy breathing, different speeds and airflow, possibly damp conditions, etc).  I'm looking at ADV helmets, because they over a cross over to road with integrated shields and more airflow vents.

- Which googles do you use?  Are ski goggles the same thing, or do bike goggle have some special properties?

"I doubt I'm her type---I'm sure she's used to the finer things.  I'm usually broke. I'm kinda sloppy…"
He Man
Post Whore

« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 10:25:21 AM »