Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

April 19, 2024, 12:24:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wet Clutch Plate Questions  (Read 3103 times)
Nat Cat

« on: June 14, 2011, 05:21:26 PM »

I was told by a ducati dealership that I need to replace the clutch plates.

I see the aftermarket barnett ones, and the OEM ones. Also I have never replaced a clutch, but I can follow step by step directions.

Just want to confirm that it is doable for a garage mechanic to change a wet clutch and that it doesn't require any special tools!

And would a symptom of cluitch plates wearing out be a farther away friction point? It makes sense if it is in my head.

Which plates do you recommend? I am currently a student on a shoestring budget. Thanks for the help!
Nat Cat

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 07:31:17 PM »

Oh its a Ducati Monster 07 695
Speeddog
West Valley Flatlander
Flounder-Administrator
Post Whore

RIP Nicky

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 09:11:25 PM »

Before you go buying stuff....

What problems are you having with the clutch?

How many miles on your bike?

- - - - - Valley Desmo Service - - - - -
Reseda, CA

(951) 640-8908

~~~ "We've rearranged the deck chairs, refilled the champagne glasses, and the band sounds great. This is fine." - Alberto Puig ~~~
Nat Cat

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2011, 09:18:21 PM »

Before you go buying stuff....

What problems are you having with the clutch?

How many miles on your bike?

The friction point on the clutch is at the far end of the lever release (far away from the bar), was told by the previous owner that the local ducati dealer mechanic told her the clutch plates were going out. Newport Beach Ducati, which has a good reputation around here.

Around 20k miles
Speeddog
West Valley Flatlander
Flounder-Administrator
Post Whore

RIP Nicky