Ducati Monster Forum

powered by:

March 28, 2024, 06:10:16 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: No Registration with MSN emails

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to change Brake pads for S2R1000  (Read 13552 times)
He Man
Post Whore

« on: April 04, 2010, 12:15:40 PM »

Limited words here. Its straight forward enough for me to snap pics along the way and remember the order I did them in.

So anyway, if your brake pads are worn, youll start hearing them moan or you will see the wear indicator disappear.
Now as far as cleaning the rotor goes. Some people use a tool to hone them again, some people use a scotch brite. Some people just wash it with rotor cleaner. I used a scotch brite pad. Im not here to judge, and Im not a professional. I cleaned the rotors with some simple green and scotch brite and bed them in according to my prefered method, which is outlined on a website that I am currently looking for, but cannot find. If you dont clean your rotors your not going to get the pads to mate with the rotors and your braking is going to suck big time.

Step 1. Remove the 2 bolts and press the caliper against the rotor to compress the pistons, otherwise you wont be able to get them out. Read on and youll see what i mean.

Step 2. Remove the 2 cotter pins that hold the main pins. I like to use a pick, if you cant access it, you can rotate the pin by hand or with a pair of pliers. there are 2 cotters per brake. One on each pin

Step 3. Pull out both pins and the brake pads will fall out.

Step 4. Looking at your pads. Heres some pics of my old pads vs new Pads You can see the difference here.

Step 5. Stare at them some more